Is Witnessing Really A Waste Of Time?

25 Mar

A couple of years ago I had some conversations with a christian friend about Predestination. She used to be Mormon until she found Jesus Christ. Her family is still in the Mormon church. I had asked my friend if she would join me one Saturday when I was expecting a visit from 2 Mormon elders that had been canvasing my neighborhood. We had a very interesting hour sharing the gospel with these 2 young men, even though they did not  agree with us on on certain doctrines and we had of course, anticipated that. A few days later I received an email from my friend saying that she would not be interested in another meeting with the Mormon missionaries.

 

She said their eternal destiny was already sealed, had in fact been determined from the beginning, and there’s nothing anyone can do to change it. I was stunned and asked her to elaborate.  It turns out that she has some very Calvinistic views. She believes that God chooses some people for heaven and the rest are destined for hell. Those whom God has chosen to suffer eternal  damnation cannot cry out to Jesus for salvation. God’s ears are forever closed to them.  My friend is a proponent of John Calvin’s teaching on Predestination.  I was deeply saddened to hear this. She does not believe man has a free will and thus it is impossible for anyone to come to God on his own. When I shared with her the verses where Jesus said “whomever will, can come” “If you believe, you shall be saved.” “Come to me all you who are burdened and heavy laden…” and how God is not willing that any should perish, but for all to come to saving faith in Jesus Christ. My friend was adamant and claimed that I was denying God’s sovereignty.

I explained that the Bible does talk about predestination, but it is very different from what Calvin taught. Scripture teaches the predestining of a soul to be in heaven AFTER that soul has chosen to believe in Jesus Christ. When I read the New Testament, I see a common thread throughout. The necessity of witnessing. To obey Christ’s command to carry out the Great Commission. The medium used is always the preaching of the gospel and then a response to either accept or reject because faith comes by HEARING.

In 1 John 2:2 it says: ” he (Jesus) is the propitiation for our sins: and not for ours only, but also for the sins of the whole world.” My friend’s view is that WHOLE WORLD does not mean everybody, but only the elect. A child can read this verse and understand that it means exactly what it says. Why twist and spin and try to make it mean something different? It is so simply stated that you don’t need to read anything into it.

 My friend’s view makes witnessing not only unnecessary, but totally useless. Unfortunately this whole  issue led to her terminating our friendship. She called me an Arminian and stopped answering my emails. It is very important that we do not follow any man but believe what the Holy Bible says. One must never approach the Bible  by trying to make the scriptures align with our beliefs. If our beliefs are contrary to what God has said in His word,  then we absolutely must toss out those beliefs because they are false.

When we come to understand the nature and character of God,  that He doesn’t just love, but He IS love, we know that God is not a respecter of persons. He doesn’t play favorites. Nor is He ever unfair. The Calvinist God that purposely sends some people to hell is not the God of the Holy Scriptures. This is some monster that I could never love or worship.

Leave a Reply

