God, The Financial Planner

27 Mar

I have been in debt for a number of years. Nothing astronomical, but still debt is debt and it’s a sin which is often caused by not only living  beyond one’s means, but by being disobedient to God. Many Christians rob God. If they tithe at all, it’s usually whatever is left after they pay all their bills and usually it isn’t much. I got saved when I was 8 years old in the school cafeteria thanks to the witnessing of a classmate. But I had backslid many time since then. I didn’t think much about what it means to store up  treasures in heaven. When I was in my 30’s, I applied for several credit cards after living the principle my father had taught me about always paying cash.

My father, who died as few years ago at the age of 90, wasn’t a Christian but he got saved a few years before his passing. He never owned a single credit card, never had a checking account and never wrote a check in his life. The world has changed a lot since my father was a young man and today it is very difficult to live without at least one credit card. In order to establish credit, you have to have used a credit card. It’s kind of ironic. I couldn’t get a car loan because I had no credit until I got a credit card and made timely payments on it. There was also another reason why I gave in to plastic after years of always paying with cash. I needed surgery, but had no health insurance. A counselor gave me some worldly advice. She suggested that I apply for gas and catalog company credit cards because they are easy to get and then take out cash advances on each card. Unfortunately, its harder than it sounds and before long it got away from me. Sickness, job loss, high interest rates, etc., caused me to fall behind. I was only paying the minimum every month and couldn’t catch up.

 

Six years ago I got married and my wife has always had excellent credit. She never failed to make payments in full  every month. We recently bought a house and a nearly new car. Then my wife stopped working because of a bad back and other health problems and had to apply for disability benefits. Now her credit card bill is starting to climb and her credit rating has begun to drop a little. We have tried to figure out ways to make some money. To solve this problem on our own. We began selling stuff and having garage sales. I would fix up old bicycles that people tossed or were selling for dirt cheap and then sell them for a profit. Sometimes I made more money selling individual parts than I did on a whole bike. I would make $20 here, $125 there, $12 here, but in the long run it was never enough to get us out of debt. We need a financial blessing.

 God has a wonderful way of using others to make his will known to us. On the same day I heard 3 preachers give a sermon on financial blessings. Recently I heard Joyce Meyer describe the meaning of insanity. She said it’s when you keep doing the same thing over and over and expect to see different results. God was speaking to me here. Now I don’t usually listen to these televangelists. In fact, I steer clear away from most of them. But there are a few I am willing to listen to and God knows this. He will use them as His mouthpiece to reach out to me. I became painfully aware that I was expecting God to bless me even though I wasn’t living faithfully. I was giving sporadically and had robbed God over and over.

 John Hagee was just talking about the boy who had 5 fish and 2 loaves of bread. It was all he had and he gave it to Jesus. Jesus took this gift and fed 5,000 people with it and still there was plenty left over. Then there’s the widow’s mite. She took her last two coins and gave it to the Temple. Jesus commended her generosity and said she gave more than anyone else because the others, who were mostly rich folk,  gave out of their abundance. But the widow, out of her want, had put in everything she had, her whole living  The point is, when what little you have isn’t enough to pay your bills, bring food to the table or meet any other urgent need, give it to God. When we give back to  God, He promises it will be given to us, good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, they will pour into your lap. For whatever measure you deal out to others it will be dealt to you in return.( Luke 6:38)  In other words, we reap what we sow.

  So I prayed about it and asked God to forgive me. Then I gave what I had to a ministry that I believe in and another one that helps to get Bibles translated for people in remote places who do not have a Bible in their language. Through faithful obedience, God will help us get out of debt. My wife and I are now committed to living under our means.

 I urge those of you who are Christians and in dire financial straits to take that step of faith and give even when there’s nothing to spare. God promises He will overwhelm us with blessings!

 

 “…Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.”  (Malachi 3:10)

 

 

2 Responses to “God, The Financial Planner”

  1. diasolifeontheborder March 27, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    That’s a good reminder – thanks for sharing. There are many people who are struggling financially today.

Leave a Reply

