How Could They Have Missed Him?

2 Apr
There is something I have often wondered about. How is it that the vast majority of the Jewish people have missed the coming of their own Messiah? I mean, they knew of Him hundreds of years before He came in the flesh. Isaiah wrote some 700 years before the birth of Christ that He would be despised and beaten beyond recognition. Pierced for our transgressions. That there would be nothing comely about him to cause the people to desire Him. The Jews were anxiously waiting and keeping watch, yet their Messiah came and went and many completely missed the boat  of Salvation. Even today there are a lot of Jewish people who look upon Jesus with disdain or even contempt, or as merely a good teacher and nothing more. He is often pooh poohed with a careless wave of a hand. Please don’t misunderstand, I mean no disrespect. I am just trying to understand how this could even be possible. Did God set it up this way? Did God put up this stumbling block? Or was this purely man’s free choice?  A decision borne out of  misunderstanding or confusion?
 
I was in a Christian chat room once when a Jewish man joined the conversation. Everything was fine until I mentioned Jesus Christ was my Lord and Savior. Suddenly this guy turned cold. He demanded that I not try to witness to him and to respect his beliefs. When I mentioned Jesus again a few minutes later, he turned even more hostile and threatened to leave the chat room. Did he really believe that Christians in a Christian chat room would refrain form talking about Jesus who is the author and finisher of our faith? The very One whom our salvation depends upon? The only One who is the way to God and everlasting life?
 
What is it about God the Son that many Jews have turned their backs on Him? I have often heard that they were anticipating a mighty King who would save them from their enemies and their suffering. A carpenter’s son who dies a despicable, shameful death, the death method of  the worst criminals, was too difficult to swallow and thus was a stumbling block to the Jews. But they knew way ahead of time from the Torah that the Messiah would be of lowly beginnings, born of a virgin, despised and rejected by men.  Zechariah 9:9 says  “Your king comes to you, righteous and having salvation, gentle and riding on a donkey….” That’s exactly what Christ did.
 

How could they have missed Him?

13 Responses to “How Could They Have Missed Him?”

  1. Haley April 2, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    At school we just had a jewish lady speak for our world religion unit. She said that someone born and raised in a Jewish home would know Jesus as a rabbi but nothing necessarily of importance. I don’t mean to be vain, and I know this may cause controversy but I’m just curious how they can be christian when they don’t take Christ as our savior, isn’t that a fundamental of Christianity? Or is Judaism considered christianity? I am looking a lot at converting to Mormonism, so I get to hear this debate all the time about that Mormons aren’t Christians as well!

    • justoneblogger April 2, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

      Thank you for responding. Jews do not see themselves as Christians, but God’s chosen people. Christianity came from the Jews. Because of their unbelief, God has turned to the believing Gentiles to provoke Israel to jealousy (Luke 21:24 and Romans 11:25). But the Times of the Gentiles will end. God is calling His people back to Him and will do a great work of salvation among the Jews.

      I am curious as to what is the reason you wish to convert to Mormonism.

      • Haley April 2, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

        ohh okay! Thank you! 🙂

  2. justoneblogger April 2, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    I am just curious, what has made you decide to join Mormonism?

    • Haley April 2, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

      I haven’t totally decided yet, but I’ve been “shopping” for a religion and Mormonism is the one I keep finding myself leaning towards. I read their gospel principals and it all made such perfect sense to me! The kingdoms of heaven were the first thing that really struck as truth to me. I also totally believe in spirit families. Gospel principals says that we lived in heaven before we came to earth, God sent us here to be tested just like he did when Jesus was in the wilderness. Those two were two BIG things that made me start looking further into the religion.
      The fact LDS does such a good job with their websites of broadcasts (I know this isn’t a “belief”) also really pleases me, so far I haven’t found any other Christian religion that is so…out there for lack of better words.

      • justoneblogger April 2, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

        One of the things I have found so astonishing is where it says in 1 Corinthians 1:18 that the word of God is foolishness to all but born again believers in Christ. In other words, because the Scriptures are spiritually discerned, we cannot understand it with our natural mind. We must be born again to have the indwelling of the Holy Spirit who teaches us God’s Truth. This is when the Holy Bible comes alive.

        I am always very cautious of any religion that makes “perfect sense” and doesn’t teach the need to be spiritually born from above, which Jesus said we MUST be or we cannot see the kingdom of God.( John 3:3)

        Remember Christ’s teaching that no one will be married in heaven.

        May God bless you in your search for the Truth.

      • Haley April 2, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

        I think that’s amazing as well!
        I don’t quite understand your second paragraph, sorry!
        Where does He teach that? I don’t know that I believe in celestial marriage, but I do feel that I’ll be with my husband in Heaven but because we won’t have desires it will be a completely different marriage than what we have here on Earth.

  3. Haley April 2, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    And also I don’t think that there can be a right or wrong religion, I believe it’s simply whats right and wrong for each individual as long as they are following the teachings of Christ I don’t think we are to say right and wrong! Just thought I’d throw that out there :p

    • justoneblogger April 2, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      Sometimes we pick a church or faith group because it teaches things that we like. Who wouldn’t want to still be married to their spouses forever? However, we need to be wary that we are not picking a denomination that appeals to the flesh. Instead, we need to search the Scriptures and see if what this church is teaching lines up with God’s word.

      Matt. 22:30 says: “At the resurrection people will neither marry nor be given in marriage; they will be like the angels in heaven” Since we will be like the angels, we know that angels do not marry.

      • Haley April 2, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

        yeah and I agree with that!
        But I also think I will still be with my hubby in heaven but like I said not in what we know as marriage. If you understand that?!

      • Haley April 2, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

        thank you for finding that verse! I’ve been looking for something like that

  4. justoneblogger April 2, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    I agree that if you and your spouse are saved, you will both be in heaven. But the Mormon church teaches something very different. They teach that marriage is forever and that the faithful Mormon male can progress to godhood, be a god of his own planet and his wife will be producing spirit babies and that the whole family lives together on that planet.

    God’s word does not teach this.

    I sincerely pray that you will spend time with God and reading His word before you consider converting to Mormonism.

    God bless you!

    • Haley April 2, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      they teach that marriage is forever if you chose to be married in a temple, i do not have to chose that. The majority of my family is mormon and my siblings and I have never been pushed to be Mormon and my parents have totally encouraged us to find a religion that suites us. Even with growing up in a largely mormon family, going to the mormon church on several occasions and reading all of their scriptures I have never ever learned that. I think that you may be accidentally combining several of the doctrines, I could be wrong but I have spent my life hearing about this religion and a couple of years of hard study on it and have never ever learned that.
      I have read Gods word front to back more than one time, so if I chose Mormonism I believe I made the right choice for me, it would not be a blind decision.

Leave a Reply

