Do You Believe God Still Heals?

28 Apr

Too many Christians do not trust God to heal the really big things in their lives. Their faith is too small. I have heard people say: “Well I believe God can or will help me get a job, but I don’t believe He’ll heal my cancer.” Or: “I believe God can find me a wife/husband, or maybe even heal my hacking cough, but I don’t believe He’ll heal my blindness.”

 

Jesus says: “Oh, ye of little Faith!” God hasn’t changed. He’s still the great Healer, the Mighty Physician, the God of the Miraculous. So what has changed? What’s wrong? Why are there so many born-again Christians living in defeat? Their faith is too small. They have the type of faith that is tossed to and fro with every wind. We admit we have a mighty God and nothing is impossible for Him, but we don’t believe He can or still does heal blindness, deafness, cancer. That He still strengthens and straightens crippled limbs. The Bible is packed with God’s promises of healing, prosperity, wholeness, health.

“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

“Is any one of you sick? He should call the elders of the church to pray over him and anoint him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise him up.” James 5:14-15

“Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits; who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases.” Psalm 103:2-3

Many Christians are like the apostle Peter who started to walk on water. He kept his eyes on Jesus and all was well. Then what did he do? He began to doubt. He took his focus off of Christ and looked at the raging storm and the howling of the wind. He lost heart and began to sink. Many of us do the same thing. We focus on our circumstances and situation too much, that we start to drown. We get buried underneath all our problems. We listen to the lies of the devil when he says God will never heal you! God won’t help you! God can’t use you! This is when you need to rebuke the devil and tell him you are God’s property, hands off!

If you are deep in debt, that you beg, borrow or steal, your life can’t glorify God. If you are young and have serious health issues that you haven’t done anything for God, your life doesn’t give Him glory. If you suffer from depression or some other mental illness that you stay locked in your house all the time, your life doesn’t give glory to God. These are Christians living in defeatism. Who listen to satan. If you are a born again believer  you are more than a conqueror in Christ Jesus. You are meant to live a victorious life. You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you.God wants you well, whether it be in your body, your mind, your finances, your marriage, so that your life will bring honor and praise to Him. Why would God keep you in a life of defeatism if it brings Him no glory?

If something is in your way, if there’s a hindrance or obstacle in your life, ask God to remove that mountain and He will, if you ask believing and not doubting or wavering. For a doubled-minded man will receive nothing from God.

I have had a hearing loss for a number of years. My Christian friends are faithful in remembering me in their daily prayers. The thing I discovered was that they weren’t praying for healing of my hearing impairment. They prayed for everything else. If I was sick, they prayed. When I went through a depression phase, they prayed. They even prayed about my migraine headaches. But my hearing? No, they didn’t believe God would heal that!

So who’s to blame here? Certainly not God! It’s because we have too little faith and what faith we have, we allow doubts to set in. We don’t believe God is still in the healing business.

Step out in faith today, confess your sins and ask God to heal you, your finances, your marriage, etc. Pursue Him. Seek His face. Humble yourself. Never give up! Then watch what happens!


 

Leave a Reply

