Leaving God At Home

23 Aug

Yesterday I had an argument with my wife’s therapist. I shouldn’t have done that because I am a Christian and I did apologize. But he’s a Christian too and that’s the point. He works for a secular agency and hides behind the excuse of separation of church and state. The state won’t allow him to talk about Jesus or share the Bible. Did this ever stopped Paul, James or John?

I feel very strongly that this guy is compromising his Christianity and isn’t fully committed to God. It was my wife’s third session with him and she asked me to join her because she was concerned about the lack of rapport and poor meeting of the minds. My wife is addicted to cigarettes. She also has a ton of baggage from her past that she never really dealt with. Her therapist had been coming on rather strong and almost accusatory. Last week she left his office nearly in tears and was angry for days. I told her she might be more comfortable with a female therapist. However, this agency has all secular counselors except for this one guy. He claims he cannot pray with us or use scriptures. Seems he fears losing his job more than being right with God.

I have been a born again, spirit filled, bible believing Christian most of my adult life. I don’t believe in worldly therapy. I don’t believe in textbook garbage, but in the Bible and I told this guy so. If you leave God out of one’s healing, you’re missing out on His best. The problem with worldly therapy is that they stress putting yourself first.  It put man’s will above God’s.

I believe my wife’s therapist is a coward. If a Christian has the spiritual gift of counseling, he/she should only offer Christian counseling. This is a gift given by the Holy Spirit for the benefit of God’s kingdom on earth. I do not believe a Christian has any business with counseling the way the world does. We are in the world, but not of the world.

In this century we have too many weak Christians. Christianity is failing miserably. This is why religious cults thrive unchecked. Why people like Oprah Winfrey has such a large following. As do books like “The Shack” and “The Davinci Code.”

We Christians are cowards. What would the apostle Paul think?

2 Responses to “Leaving God At Home”

  1. Trey Medley August 23, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    I’m not sure you’d like much of what passes for Christian counseling these days. There’s a growing (and very vocal) stream among “Christian counselors” to practice Nouthetic Counseling. The stated goal of Nouthetic Counseling is to point out sin in the patient’s life because all psychological problems are a result of sin. The result is a lot of accusatory statements and no rapport, though it may end in a prayer. There are good Christian counselors out there, just be apprised and do your due diligence if your wife decides to go a different route.

    • justoneblogger August 24, 2012 at 11:01 am #

      Thank you for your thoughts. I had not heard of Nouthetic counseling before and I had to do a little research on it. I myself had received christian counseling in the past and it was not focused on sin. It dealt with what does God’s word say about a situation. I received wonderful spiritual guidance as well as prayer before and after each session. The important thing is to make sure your therapist is truly born-again.

      My wife’s desire is to receive Christian counseling. As Christians, we are fully aware that the world’s view is centered on self and leaves God out. We have had pastors warn us of the dangers of this type of therapy as it is counter to God’s word.

Leave a Reply

